BMA winners

Tom Hyslop rockmrtom@EARTHLINK.NET
Fri May 6 04:18:33 EDT 2011

Congratulations to all who were nominated, and especially to the winners:

2011 Blues Music Award Winners

Traditional Blues Album: Pinetop Perkins & Willie 'Big Eyes' Smith,
Joined At the Hip

Contemporary Blues Male Artist: Buddy Guy

Contemporary Blues Album: Buddy Guy, Living Proof

Traditional Blues Male Artist: Charlie Musselwhite

Soul Blues Female Artist: Irma Thomas

Soul Blues Male Artist: Solomon Burke

Soul Blues Album: Solomon Burke, Nothing's Impossible

Contemporary Blues Female Artist: Robin Rogers

Acoustic Artist: John Hammond

Album: Buddy Guy, Living Proof

B.B. King Entertainer: Buddy Guy

Koko Taylor Award: Ruthie Foster

Band: The Derek Trucks Band

Best New Artist Debut: Matt Hill, On the Floor

Song of the Year: Tom Hambridge/Buddy Guy, "Living Proof"

Acoustic Album: The Nighthawks, Last Train to Bluesville

Rock Blues Album: Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band featuring Hubert Sumlin,
Willie "Big Eyes" Smith, Bryan Lee and Buddy Flett ; Live! In Chicago

Historical Album: Bob Corritore & Friends, Harmonica Blues

DVD: Luther Allison, "Songs from the Road"

Instrumentalist-Guitar: Derek Trucks

Instrumentalist- Harmonica: Charlie Musselwhite

Pinetop Perkins Piano Player: Dr. John

Instrumentalist-Drums: Cedric Burnside

Instrumentalist-Horn: Eddie Shaw

Instrumentalist-Bass: Bob Stroger

Instrumentalist-Other: Sonny Rhodes

Archives & web interface:
- To contact the administrator, send an email addressed to:
- To unsubscribe, send a new email addressed to:, with the message: unsubscribe BLUES-L

More information about the Blues-l mailing list